Curt Schafer Lecture

Since 1986, the Foundation has sponsored the annual Curt Schafer Lecture which brings a noted architect or designer to Arizona to speak about their work and their design ideas.

The annual Curt Schafer Lecture is organized as a collaboration between the Arizona Architecture Foundation and The Design School at ASU. Each year a noted architect or designer is invited to Arizona to speak about their work and their design ideas. The annual event brings together students, professionals, and community members to engage in discussions about architecture and the built environment.

The annual lecture is named in memory of Curt Schafer who was a founding member of the foundation and chaired the annual golf tournament.

2024 Lecture

Save the Date for Sandra Barclay Lecture on March 13th, 2024

Past Lecturers

2023Michael Maltzan
2021Tatiana Bilbao, Tatiana Bilbao Estudio
2019Felipe Mesa, PLAN:B Arquitetos
2018Francis Kere, Kere Architecture
2017Jeannie Gang, Studio Gang
2016Bernard Tschumi, Bernard Tschumi Architects
2015Bijoy Jain, Studio Mumbia
2014Christopher Sharples, SHOP Architects
2013Elizabeth Diller, Diller Scofido + Renfro
2012Joshua Prince Ramus, REX
2011Peter Rich, Peter Rich Architects
2010David Adjaye, Adjaye Associates
2009Steven Ehrlich, EYRC Architects
2008Peter Eisenman, Eisenman Architects
2007Elias Torres, Elias Torres Architects
2006Glenn Murcutt
2005Eugene Kohn, KPF
2004Thom Mayne, Morphosis
2003Tod Williams + Billie Tsien
2002Mario Botta, Mario Botta Architetti
2001Joel Kotkin
1999Antoine Predock
1998Stefanos Polyzoides, Moule & Polyzoides
1997Sim Van der Ryn
1996Dan Cort
1995John DeGrove
1994Grantland Johnson
1993Tadao Ando
1992Barton Myers, Barton Myers Associates
1991Glenn Murcutt
1990Peter Calthorpe
1989Harold Guida, Guida Moseley Brown Architects
1988Andrés Duany
1987Jonathan Barnett
1986John Reps