Robert Saemisch Prize

Since 2018, the Foundation has sponsored an annual travel prize to an emerging professional from the AIA Arizona Metro Chapter.


The award provides emerging professionals the opportunity for professional growth and development through the experiences of independent travel and research. Past recipients have focused their travel on a wide range of cultural, urban design and architectural design related issues with an emphasis on creating positive change within the Arizona community.

The travel prize is given in memory of Robert Saemisch, AIA who served as president of AIA Arizona, the AIA Rio Salado Chapter, and was also a founding member of the Rio Salado Architecture Foundation. Robert was passionate about travel and recognized the professional growth it provided young architects.

Support travel programs by donating to the Robert Saemisch Endowment.


Past Recipients

2023Bradely Bowman, AIA, Germany
2023Kyle Fiano, AIA, Australia
2022Brett West, AIA, Netherlands
2021Andrew Marriott, AIA, Morocco
2020Karl Eicher, AIA, Japan
2019Sara Yehia, AIA, Singapore
2018Christian Solorio, AIA, Colombia & Mexico